Physical Sciences & Engineering Library
SciFinder Scholar Chemistry Database
The Client Version of SciFinder will be discontinued on June 30, 2011.
To use the Web Version of Scifinder (https://scifinder.cas.org/) first register, using the instructions below:
One-Time Registration:
- Go to the UC SciFinder website (http://software.chem.ucla.edu/scifind/) and under "New User?" select Davis (UCD).
- Review the instructions for creating the username/password, then click the registration link at the end of the page. You must register with your "ucdavis.edu" email account.
- When you receive your confirmation email (check your spam folder if it's not in your inbox), click the link in the message to complete the registration.
To login to SciFinder, go to https://scifinder.cas.org/ (https://scifinder.cas.org/)
Overview: What Is SciFinder Scholar?
SciFinder Scholar (http://www.cas.org/SCIFINDER/SCHOLAR/) is the most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 21 million citations and indexes over 8,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. SciFinder Scholar also provides access to other CAS databases including Registry and CASREACT, which allow searching of chemical substances and reactions. Coverage: 1907 - present.
Note: All UC campuses access SciFinder through 30 shared ports. Please log-off when you are finished!
Access: Where Can I Use SciFinder Scholar?
SciFinder Scholar may only be used by UC Davis students, faculty and staff.
Two versions of SciFinder Scholar are available:
- Web Version:
- Must register before use. Can be used from off-campus via the VPN.
- Client Version:
- Software must be installed. Cannot be used from off-campus.
To use SciFinder from off-campus you need to use the web version.
Web Version of SciFinder Scholar: Registration Instructions
Must register before use. Can be used from off-campus via the VPN. SciFinder may be used only by UC Davis students, faculty and staff.
- Register for SciFinder Web Version (http://software.chem.ucla.edu/scifind/). A UC Davis email account is required. You will receive an email confirmation, follow the instructions in the email to complete your one-time registration. To register from off-campus, log-in via the VPN first.
- Once you have registered, search SciFinder Web (https://scifinder.cas.org)
- Java Runtime Environment (JRE) Version 6.2 or higher is required to use the structure drawing editor. Get both the Windows and Mac versions here (http://www.cas.org/misc/downloads/jreplugin.html).
Accessing SciFinder via the VPN
- Login to the library VPN (https://vpn.lib.ucdavis.edu/) .
- Click on UC Davis General Library.
- Under Catalogs & Databases, click on Databases A-Z.
- Enter "SciFinder".
- Click on SciFinder Scholar [Web Version]
The structure editor on the web version is slow to load the first time.
Client Version of SciFinder Scholar: Installation Instructions
Software must be installed, cannot be used from off-campus. SciFinder may be installed only by UC Davis students, faculty and staff.
The Client version of SciFinder is available at:
- The Physical Sciences & Engineering Library
- Shields Library (Bio-Ag Reference Area only)
- Campus computer labs at 163 Shields and 75 Hutchison
UC Davis students, faculty and staff may install the client version on their own computers:
- Go to the UC SciFinder Scholar page (http://software.chem.ucla.edu/scifind/)
- Scroll down and click on the User Agreement for MS Windows NT, 2000, XP, Vista and Apple MacOSX (http://software.chem.ucla.edu/scifind/#UA) link.
- After reading the user agreement, click on "I AGREE" at the bottom of the page. This brings you to the page where you can download SciFinder Scholar.
- "SFS 2007 Install" links for both PC and Mac. Click on the appropriate link.
- Installation instructions and links to the two files you will need to download are here. Be sure to read and follow these instructions.
Installation problems?
The vast majority of installation problems result because the "site.prf" file has either not been downloaded, or it has not been uncompressed and installed in the SciFinder directory. Please review this part of the instructions to ensure you have downloaded and installed the "site.prf" file.
Still Having Installation Problems?
For assistance or referral, please contact Cory Craig, cjcraig@ucdavis.edu, or (530) 752‑0347.
Documentation, User Guides, Training Materials
- SciFinder Scholar How To Guides (http://www.cas.org/support/academic/sf/htg/)
- Guides provide step-by-step search examples. Topics include: Exploring by Research Topic, Author Name, Chemical Structure, Substructure, Structure Similarity, Molecular Formula, and Reaction.
- Getting Started With SciFinder Scholar 2007 for Windows (http://www.cas.org/ASSETS/AB7764FE0AD244D4BC6795F762989B3F/getstartsfspc07.pdf)PDF
- Getting Started With SciFinder Scholar 2007 for Mac OS X (http://www.cas.org/ASSETS/B4FA7EAAE6F24F47BB8E85F1FE811D49/getstartsfsmac07.pdf)PDF
- What's New In SciFinder Scholar 2007 (http://www.cas.org/products/sfacad/scholwhatsnew.html)
- An overview of the new features of SciFinder Scholar 2007.
- SciFinder Strategies: Advanced Searching Tips (http://www.cas.org/support/scifi/strategies/)
- Learn to use SciFinder Scholar's more powerful features. Topics include: controlling substitution, controlling ring formation; searching for preparations, functional groups, and reaction mechanisms; polymer formula and structure searching.
- System Requirements for SciFinder Scholar 2007 (http://www.cas.org/support/academic/sf/systreq2007.html) (Windows and Macintosh)
- SciFinder Scholar Home Page (http://www.cas.org/SCIFINDER/SCHOLAR/)
- An overview of SciFinder's content and search tools.
Importing Citations into Endnote, ProCite, or Reference Manager
Instructions for transfering references from SciFinder to EndNote, ProCite, or Reference Manager (http://www.cas.org/Support/scholar.html#most_frequent).


