help button Ask For Help
The Humanities & Social Sciences Department

Videos & DVDs on the UC Davis Campus

A Location and Information Guide

Note: A PDF version of this page is also available.

Videos are held in multiple places on the UC Davis campus, so not all of them will be visible in Library catalogs like Harvest or Melvyl. Each location has its own policies, so patrons should be aware of the differences among the collections. The two largest sources of video on campus are housed at the Information and Educational Technology (IET) Media Distribution Lab in Hart Hall and the University Library.

Hart Media Distribution Lab (1101 Hart Hall, Phone 530-752-2911)

IET-CTS operates the largest collection of videos on campus, with several thousand titles. Instructors and students can search the collection. (http://video.ucdavis.edu) Instructors can reserve materials via the web or by phone.

Most of the VHS/DVD titles are located in Hart Hall; however, some older material is in storage. Be aware that items in storage may require extra time to prepare, especially material in the Umatic 3/4" format. This must be transferred to VHS by an outside service provider.

To add items to the permanent collection, instructors can make purchase requests using TRC mini-grants. Instructors can put media on quarterly reserve.

Instructors can check out material for viewing in a campus classroom. Students can only view material on site in 1101 Hart Hall. They can also check out material from the University Library (see item #2) for viewing in the Media Distribution Lab.

In the University Library

The Library holds several hundred titles in VHS and DVD formats, purchased for the purpose of research, instruction, and local collection subject interests. The Harvest catalog (UC Davis holdings only) and Melvyl (all UC libraries) will only tell you which videos are held in the library system (NOT the Hart Hall Media Lab or other UC Davis campus collections). To search the Harvest Catalog for videos go to "Advanced Search" and limit by Format to "Videorecordings." You can also limit only to VHS or DVD. Shields Reserve Services (1st floor) holds most videos in the UC Davis Library system, but the science libraries and Special Collections also own some titles.

Most videos in Shields Library are kept in Reserve Services, and can typically circulate to UC Davis cardholders. There is no public viewing equipment in the library, however, so patrons must either use their own equipment or visit the Hart Hall Media lab to use the players located there. If instructors want more restricted loan for a class, Reserve Services can send a tape to Hart Hall for the Quarter, where students must view it on site. This option is recommended for large classes. Shields Reserve Services can also keep the tape on course reserve at the Library with restricted loan (no shorter than one day is recommended in this case, to allow patrons enough time to view the item). Either way, instructors are encouraged to always place video on official "Course Reserve" when it is needed for a class so that it cannot be checked out by other patrons or to other UC campuses through interlibrary loan.

Interlibrary loan (ILL) of media from other UC libraries works sometimes, but is dependent on the policies and restrictions of the lending library, if the title is on course reserve at that institution, etc. So, it's best to assume ILL is never guaranteed, particularly in the case of rare and expensive titles.

LGBT Center, Women's Resources and Research Center (WRRC), and Cross Cultural Center

The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, & Transgender (LGBT) Resource Center, the WRRC, and the Cross Cultural Center have small collections of videos on relevant gender and sexuality topics. The WRRC also houses a selection of videos on disability studies, and also has a print list of titles. Currently, the best way to find out about titles in these collections is to visit the Centers, or to browse the film resources lists on the UC Davis Sexuality Studies page.

Office of Campus Community Relations videos (Mrak Hall) http://occr.ucdavis.edu/books_videos.cfm?type=Video

The OCCR houses a small collection of tapes, mostly on the Campus Book Projects, gender and racial equity issues, and fostering diversity. A reservation form for check-out of titles is online.

Art Department Visual Resources Library

The Visual Resources Library has a small collection of videos for instruction and in-house viewing. This library primarily serves the Art & Art History Department's course needs. Contact Leah Theis (lctheis@ucdavis.edu / (530) 752-3138) for more information.

Local Public Libraries

Public libraries are often more likely than academic libraries to own recent popular films for entertainment purposes, as well as some documentaries.

Rental Sources

Local

Specialty Rentals

  • Facets Videotheque (http://www.facets.org/) offers a helpful rental service that features many out of print titles. Based in Chicago, and requires $24/month membership fee.
  • There are still a few library media centers (http://www.ccumc.org/rental.html) affiliated with the Consortium of College and University Media Centers (CCUMC) that will rent videos and film prints for a charge to other institutions.

Departmental Collections

Individual subject departments on campus often own some videos for teaching and research purposes. These are rarely listed online, and they are usually restricted only for the use of that department. Listed here are some of the few with online information, in addition to the Art Department's Visual Resources Library (mentioned above):

  • Anthropology Department http://www.anthropology.ucdavis.edu/anthro/index.cfm?objectid=1A069419-FF86-53E0-656B56880DCC3055
  • English Department, O'Connor Library (Lannan videos) http://www.english.ucdavis.edu/Library/lannan_videos.htm [Shields Library also has circulating copies of Lannan videos for use. The tapes feature major names in creative writing and poetry talking about their work]

Other Useful Sites

UC Davis Classroom Technology Services (CTS)
http://cts.ucdavis.edu
Contains information about classroom support, computer labs, audio-visual technology, and videoconferencing services. Phone number: 530-752-3553.
Grape Growing and Wine Making Videos at UC Davis
http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/bioag/collections/vitic/pathcheck/video.php
Also check Harvest: UC Davis Library Catalog (http://harvest.lib.ucdavis.edu/) for recent additions.
Berkeley Media Center
http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/MRC/
The UCB Media Center site contains far more than information about that specific collection. Included are bibliographies and articles, distributor information, subject videographies, and more.
Pacific Film Archive / Cinefiles film document image database
http://www.bampfa.berkeley.edu/ / http://www.mip.berkeley.edu/cinefiles/index.html
PFA is the closest large film archive to UC Davis. This site lets you search the collection and has information on upcoming screenings.
Moving Image Collections (MIC)
http://mic.imtc.gatech.edu/index.php
MIC is a union catalog of archival moving image holdings internationally. It also contains preservation and donation information for the public, and a section for science educators.