- Subject Guides
- Librarian Subject Specialists
- Recommend a Purchase for Collection
- Ask a Reference Question
- Ask a UC Librarian
- Use the
- Connect From Off Campus
- My Account/Renew Books
- Activate your Library Card
- For Faculty and Graduate Students
- For Undergraduate Students
- Copyright & Intellectual Property
- Scholarly Communication
Luna Insight Client Software for Digital Image Collections
This is Client/Server software. In order to use these collections you must download the client onto your workstation. The UC version of the client, to which this guide refers, is available at http://imageservice.cdlib.org/insight.html (http://imageservice.cdlib.org/insight.html). You must be on campus to use this software; it does not work with the Proxy Server. However, it is not loaded on the library's public workstations.
Once you have the client on your machine, open it directly and access the available image collections through it.
When you are working in Insight, you will encounter three basic types of windows. Although they may appear similar, each type offers different functionality.
- Collections window
- This is the complete dataset for whatever collection or collections you have open. It always displays thumbnail images.
- Group Window
- This is where the images that you select from a collection are gathered.
- Workspace Window
- This is where you can view larger versions and associated data of one or more images selected from the Collections window from a Group Window or a Presentation. You can do a certain amount of manipulation of images in the group window, including zooming and cropping.
Recommended Best Practices
- Begin each search by opening a group window. (Go into the file menu to create a new group or open one you created previously.)
- If you are working from your office or other non-public computer, save your group to the "Local Folder"—that is, on your own C-drive.
- If you save it to one of the other folders anyone in the UC can get in and alter or delete it. Once you are at a private workstation, open the group and save it to that machine's C-drive (the Local Folder option.)
- If your group is just a practice exercise, be sure to delete it when you are done. Label your group so you can clearly recognize it as yours and from UCD. This will make it easier to find later.
It's not obvious, but at all times, one window or another is "selected." The selected window is outlined in a thin white line. If you do a search when the Group window is selected, it will search only through the items already in the Group window. To search for new images, make sure the Collections Window is outlined in white.
If you want to take images found in Insight and use them elsewhere, you need to export them. In order to export more than one image at a time, you need to:
- Place them in a group.
- Create a presentation from within the group.
- Export the presentation. You have the choice of exporting into Powerpoint, as image files or html files.
(Based on UC Irvine Libraries's Quick Guide)
- Open an existing group: On the left menu select File>Open Group or create a new group: File>New Group.
- Select the images you want: drag one image into the group window and all selected images will drop into your group.
- Save the grouped images: File>Save Group or File>Save Group As>Select Folder>Name Group.
- Create a presentation: Open Group menu. Select images for presentation. Click on Create Presentation. In the Image Workspace window, Save and Close, name the presentation, and Save.
- Go back to Group Workspace.
- Click on Presentation icon (overlapping blue boxes).
In the File menu:
- Choose an Export Presentation option (Selected, PowerPoint or HTML).
- Choose a resolution.
- Choose an existing folder, or create a new one.
- Name the presentation file.
- Save and wait for the presentation to be exported.
- Note exported file location.
Open in PowerPoint (if you saved in Power point)
- Navigate to the exported folder and file.
- Click on Open
- Use PowerPoint or the ARTstor Offline Image Viewer to arrange and present images.
- Help is available in Insight or online (http://www.lunaimaging.com/support/5_0/insight/en/).
- ARTstor's Offline Image Viewer is freely available (http://www.artstor.org/info/tools/tools_public_oiv.jsp). It is a powerful and fairly straightforward image presentation tool.
For questions or help, contact:
Daniel Goldstein, Humanities and Social Sciences Librarian
telephone: (530) 752‑2040