Humanities & Social Sciences
Borderlands Resources

Databases

Access World News [via NewsBank] [UC Davis IP Addresses Only]
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Access World News also includes a selection of Spanish language newspapers from the United States and other countries. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
Acceda Noticias, newspapers and news sources in Spanish
California newspapers
United States newspapers
America: History and Life
Bibliographic database containing citations to articles on American and Canadian history, from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 journals published worldwide.
Chicano Database [via Eureka/RLG]
Records for all types of materials in the areas of Mexican-American topics and Latino cultures.
A tutorial is available via the UC Berkeley Ethnic Studies Web Site.
ClasePeriodica [UCD Library IP Addresses Only]
Produced by the Universidad Autonoma Nacional de Mexico, ClasePeriodica contains more than 300,000 bibliographic citations of journal articles, books, essays, book reviews, conference proceedings, technical reports and interviews published in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as publications that focus on Pan-American issues. Coverage includes articles about topics in the social sciences, humanities, sciences and technology from over 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages.
Contemporary Women's Issues [UC Davis IP Addresses Only]
Covers over 1500 sources published by more than 200 organizations around the world. Coverage begins with sources from 1992 and expands through the present with more than 150 periodicals in addition to non-periodical source publications. Sources provide information dealing with women's issues in over 190 nations.
Ethnic Newswatch [UC Davis IP Addresses Only]
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States.
Expanded Academic ASAP [via Infotrac] [UC Davis IP Addresses Only]
Multidisciplinary coverage of periodicals from arts and the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. Covers both popular magazines and scholarly journals. Many articles with full text.
Factiva [UC Davis IP Addresses Only]
Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Provides company information including market data and competitors. Includes full-text of the Wall Street Journal. Coverage in more than 20 languages. Currently supported by IE 5.1+.
Gender Watch [UC Davis IP Addresses Only]
A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports.
HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) [UC Davis IP Addresses Only]
HAPI Online is the searchable Web version of the Hispanic American Periodicals Index. HAPI is your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
Handbook of Latin American Studies [UC Davis IP Addresses Only]
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1935, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
Left Index [via NISC] [UC Davis IP Addresses Only]
Citations in diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
PAIS International Database [via CSA Illumina] [UC Davis IP Addresses Only]
Indexes all types of materials in the area of public affairs. Topics include agriculture, banking, demographics, education, environment, finance, government, law, legislation, political science, social sciences, and statistics.
Fact Sheet
Help
PAIS Archive [via CSA Illumina] [UC Davis IP Addresses Only]
Online version of the PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. This index provides historical perspective on many public policy, political, economic, and social issues worldwide. Included are references to monographs, periodical articles, government documents, reports, and pamphlets.
The complete print version of the PAIS bulletin is located in the HSSGIS Reference Department, 2nd Floor Shields Library, Z7163 .P8
Sociological Abstracts [via CSA Illumina] [UC Davis IP Addresses Only]
Sociological Abstracts Database is a primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
Fact Sheet
Help
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts [via CSA Illumina] [UC Davis IP Addresses Only]
Covers international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration policy.
Fact Sheet
Help

Full Text Resources

Highwire Search and Retrieve [UC Davis IP Addresses Only]
Highwire Search and Retrieve is a search engine that allows one to search through the full text of numerous scholarly and peer-reviewed journals, including many that are accessible from the UC Davis IP address or proxy server. The collection contains Duke University Press, Oxford University Press and Sage Electronic Journals, as well as many other university press journals and important academic society publications. Highwire Press is a product of Stanford University.
Browse the titles of UC Davis journal subscriptions available from Highwire Search and Retrieve.
JSTOR [UC Davis IP Addresses Only]
JSTOR provides access to back files rather than recent issues of important scholarly journals. Journals are collected in a variety of disciplines and holdings vary. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
About JSTOR: Visit this page to learn about the holdings of JSTOR journals.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals Online [UC Davis IP Addresses Only]
Project Muse provides full text access to over 100 journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics. It is useful for searching interdisciplinary cultural studies topics. Its full-text search engine is more detailed than any other index for these journals. Coverage varies by journal.
Mirror site
University of California Press eScholarship Editions
The University of California Press eScholarship Editions are made available through a partnership between the University of California Press and the California Digital Library's eScholarship program. Some of the titles are available to the general public; the rest are for University of California faculty, staff, and students only.

Guides to Electronic, Print, and Other Resources

Americas Program: Border Information and Outreach Service Clearinghouse
Searchable online library with more than 1,300 border and U.S.-Mexico related publications; also includes bibliographies, internet information and Websites, and listings of groups and organizations.
Access: http://americas.irc-online.org/clearinghouse.html
The Border
Web site for the PBS documentary, The Border--a series of six stories about life on the U.S.-Mexico border.Includes an overview of the documentary, and supplementary information including an interactive timeline of the history of the border and U.S.-Mexico relations, a morphing map of the border, a related readings list, and links to related Web sites.
Access: http://www.pbs.org/kpbs/theborder/index.html
Border Culturas: Conjunto Music
Provides information on the history, cultural significance, and artistry of the conjunto music from the Mexico-U.S. border region. Includes essays, photo exhibits, music excerpts, liner notes, and information on the Arhoolie Records label.
Access: http://www.lib.utexas.edu/benson/border
The Borderlands Encyclopedia: A Digital Educational Resource on Contemporary United States-Mexico Border Issues
The Borderlands Encyclopedia is the design, development and implementation of a multimedia instructional resource on contemporary issues of the U.S.-Mexico border for broad-based distribution to other educational agencies utilizing the WWW and CD-ROM technologies. The Encyclopedia serves as a gateway or portal to many web sites containing information about the border region.
Access: http://www.utep.edu/border/
LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center): U.S.-Mexico Border
Provides links to regional resources, academic sites, and sites providing information on focused the U.S.-Mexico border region.
Access: http://www1.lanic.utexas.edu/la/mexico/usmex/index.html
The South Texas Border, 1900-1920: Photographs from the Robert Runyon Collection
The Robert Runyon Photograph Collection of the South Texas Border Area is a collection of over 8,000 items documenting the Lower Rio Grande Valley during the early 1900s. The collection includes glass negatives, lantern slides, nitrate negatives, prints, and postcards, representing the work of commercial photographer Robert Runyon (1881-1968). His photographs document the history and development of South Texas and the border, including the Mexican Revolution, the U.S. military presence at Ft. Brown and along the border prior to and during World War I, and the growth and development of the Rio Grande Valley. The source materials for this collection are housed at the Center for American History at the University of Texas at Austin.
Access: http://runyon.lib.utexas.edu

Bibliographies and Research Guides

Borderlands sourcebook: a guide to the literature on Northern Mexico and the American Southwest.
Norman, OK: University of Oklahoma Press: Published under the sponsorship of the Association of Borderlands Scholars, 1983.
Shields Library F786 .B65 1983
Bustamante, Jorge A. and Francisco Malagamba A. México-Estados Unidos: bibliografĂ­a general sobre estudios fronterizos.
México, D.F.: El Colegio de México, 1980.
Shields Library E183.8 .M6 B87 1980
Caballero, Cesar. The Border finder: a border studies bibliography.
El Paso, TX: University of Texas at El Paso, Library, 1987.
Shields Library F787 .C34 1987
Encyclopedia Latina: history, culture, and society in the United States.
Edited by Ilan Stavans and Harold Augenbraum. Danbury, CT: Grolier Academic Reference, 2005.
Shields Library HSSGIS Reference E184 .S75 E587 2005
Etulain, Jacqueline J. Mexican Americans in the twentieth-century American West: a bibliography.
Albuquerque, NM: Center for the American West, Department of History, University of New Mexico, 1990.
Shields Library E184 .M5 E885 1990
Handbook of Hispanic cultures in the United States. Edited by Nicolás Kanellos and Claudio Esteva-Fabregat.
Houston, TX: Arte Público Press, 1993-1994.
Shields Library HSSGIS Reference E184 .S75 H365 1993
Meier, Matt S. and Margo Gutiérrez. The Mexican American experience: an encyclopedia.
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2003.
Shields Library HSSGIS Reference E184 .M5 M4535 2003
The Oxford encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States. Edited by Suzanne Oboler and Deena J. González.
New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2005.
Shields Library HSSGIS Reference E184 .S75 O97 2005
Rodríguez, Rosa Elisa. Directorio cultural de la frontera México-E.U. = Mexico-USA border cultural directory.
Tijuana, B.C.: Cía. Operadora del Centro Cultural y Tuístico de Tijuana, 1999.
Shields Library NX514 .A3 M493 1999
Valk, Barbara G. BorderLine: a bibliography of the United States-Mexico Borderlands.
Los Angeles: UCLA Latin American Center Publications; Riverside, CA: University of Califonia Consortium on Mexico and the United States, 1988.
Shields Library F786 .V225 1988

Government Publications

Orszag, Peter R. The role of immigrants in the U.S. labor market: statement of Peter R. Orszag, director, before the Subcommittee on Immigration, Citizenship, Refugees, Border Security, and International Law, Committee on the Judiciary, U.S. House of Representatives.
Washington, D.C.: Congress of the United States, Congressional Budget Office, 2007.
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS81212
United States. Secure Fence Act of 2006.
Washington, D.C.: U.S. G.P.O., 2006.
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS77831
United States. United States-Mexico Transboundary Aquifer Assessment Act.
Washington, D.C.: U.S. G.P.O., 2006.
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS79402
United States. Congress. House. Committee on Homeland Security. Subcommittee on Management, Integration, and Oversight. Mismanagement of the border surveillance system and lessons for the new America's Shield Initiative. Pt. I, II, and III: hearing before the Subcommittee on Management, Integration, and Oversight of the Committee on Homeland Security, House of Representatives, One Hundred Ninth Congress, first and second session, June 16, 2005, December 16, 2005, and February 16, 2006.
Washington, D.C.: U.S. G.P.O., 2007.
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS81023
United States. Congress. House. Committee on the Judiciary. How does illegal immigration impact American taxpayers and will the Reid-Kennedy amnesty worsen the blow?: hearing before the Committee on the Judiciary, House of Representatives, One Hundred Ninth Congress, second session, August 2, 2006.
Washington, D.C.: U.S. G.P.O., 2006.
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS75599
United States. Congress. House. Committee on the Judiciary. Should Mexico hold veto power over U.S. border security decisions?: hearing before the Committee on the Judiciary, House of Representatives, One Hundred Ninth Congress, second session, August 17, 2006.
Washington, D.C.: U.S. G.P.O., 2006.
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS77063
United States. Congress. House. Committee on the Judiciary. Subcommittee on Immigration, Border Security, and Claims. Out gunned and outmanned: local law enforcement confronts violence along the southern border: hearing before the Subcommittee on Immigration, Border Security, and Claims of the Committee on the Judiciary, House of Representatives, One Hundred Ninth Congress, second session, March 2, 2006.
Washington, D.C.: U.S. G.P.O., 2006.
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS69845
United States. Congress. House. Committee on the Judiciary. Subcommittee on Immigration, Citizenship, Refugees, Border Security, and International Law. Past, present and future: a historic and personal reflection on American immigration: hearing before the Subcommittee on Immig ration, Citizenship, Refugees, Border Security, and International Law of the Committee on the Judiciary, House of Representatives, One Hundred Tenth Congress , first session, March 30, 2007.
Washington, D.C.: U.S. G.P.O., 2007.
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS84950
United States. Congress. House. Committee on the Judiciary. Subcommittee on Immigration, Citizenship, Refugees, Border Security, and International Law. Shortfalls of the 1986 immigration reform legislation: hearing before the Subcommittee on Immigration, Citizenship, Refugees, Border Security, and International Law of the Committee on the Judiciary, House of Representatives, One Hundred Tenth Congress, first session, April 19, 2007.
Washington, D.C.: U.S. G.P.O., 2007.
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS84995
United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on the Judiciary. Subcommittee on Terrorism, Technology, and Homeland Security. Federal strategies to end border violence: hearing before the Subcommittee on Terrorism, Technology, and Homeland Security and the Subcommittee on Immigration, Border Security, and Citizenship of the Committee on the Judiciary, United States Senate, One Hundred Ninth Congress, second session, March 1, 2006.
Washington, D.C.: U.S. G.P.O., 2006.
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS74821

Map/Atlas

San Diego-Tijuana international border area planning atlas = Atlas de planeación del área fronteriza internacional Tijuana-San Diego. Edited by Paul Ganster.
San Diego, CA: San Diego State University Press and Institute for Regional Studies of the Californias, 2000.
Shields Government Information and Maps Map Collection HT395 .M49 S26 2000

Statistics

United States-Mexico border statistics since 1900: 1990 update. Statistical Abstract of Latin America.
Supplement series; 13. Los Angeles: UCLA Latin American Center Publications, UCLA Program on Mexico, 1993.
Statistical abstract of the United States-Mexico borderlands. Edited by Peter L. Reich.
Los Angeles, CA: UCLA Latin American Center Publications, University of California, 1984.
Shields Library HA935 .S8 Suppl. no.9
United States-Mexico border statistics since 1900. Edited by David E. Lorey.
Los Angeles, CA: UCLA Latin American Center Publications, University of California, 1990.
Shields Library HA935 .S8 Suppl. no.11
United States-Mexico border statistics since 1900: 1990 update. Edited by David E. Lorey.
Los Angeles, CA: UCLA Latin American Center Publications, University of California, 1993.
Shields Library HA935 .S8 Suppl. no.13

General Studies

Adler, Rudy. Border film project: photos by migrants & minutemen on the U.S.-Mexico border.
New York, NY: Abrams, 2007.
Shields Library F787 .A34 2007
Akers Chacón, Justin and Mike Davis. No one is illegal: fighting violence and state repression on the U.S.-Mexico border.
Chicago, IL: Haymarket Books, 2006.
Shields Library JV6456 .A38 2006
Bejarano, Cynthia L. Qué onda?: urban youth culture and border identity.
Tucson, AZ: University of Arizona Press, 2005.
Shields Library F790 .M5 B45 2005
Borders and border politics in a globalizing world. Edited by Paul Ganster and David E. Lorey.
Lanham, MD: SR Books, 2005.
Shields Library JC323 .B667 2005
Dorsey, Margaret E. Pachangas: borderlands music, U.S. politics, and transnational marketing.
Austin, TX: University of Texas Press, 2006.
Shields Library JK1991.5 .T4D67 2006
Glittenberg, Jody. Violence and hope in a U.S.-Mexico border town.
Long Grove, IL: Waveland Press, 2008.
In process.
Guerette, Rob T. Migrant death: border safety and situational crime prevention on the U.S.-Mexico divide.
New York, NY: LFB Scholarly Pub., 2007.
In process.
Hutchinson, Sydney. From quebradita to duranguense: dance in Mexican American youth culture.
Tucson, AZ: University of Arizona Press, 2007.
Shields Library GV1624.7 .M49 H88 2007
Impacts of border enforcement on Mexican migration: the view from sending communities. Edited by Wayne A. Cornelius and Jessa M. Lewis.
La Jolla, CA: Center for Comparative Immigration Studies, 2007.
Shields Library JV6483 .I573 2007
Irwin, Robert McKee. Bandits, captives, heroines, and saints: cultural icons of Mexico's northwest borderlands.
Minneapolis, MN: University of Minnesota Press, 2007.
In process.
Legal borderlands: law and the construction of American borders. Edited by Mary L. Dudziak & Leti Volpp.
Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2006.
Shields Library KF4635 .L44 2006
López, Sam. Post-revolutionary Chicana literature: memoir, folklore, and fiction of the border, 1900-1950.
New York, NY: Routledge, 2007.
Shields Library PS153 .M4 L67 2007
Lopez Morín, José R. The legacy of Américo Paredes.
College Station, TX: Texas A&M University Press, 2006.
Shields Library PS3531 .A525 Z75 2006
Martínez, Oscar Jáquez. Troublesome border.
Tucson, AZ: University of Arizona Press, 2006.
Shields Library F786 .M42 2006
Mireles, Jovita González. Life along the border: a landmark Tejana thesis.
College Station, TX: Texas A&M University Press, 2006.
Shields Library F392 .C25 M57 2006
Planeación binacional y cooperación transfronteriza entre México y Estados Unidos. César M. Fuentes Flores, Sergio Peña Medina (coordinadores).
Tijuana, B.C.: Colegio de la Frontera Norte, 2005.
Shields Library HT395 .M49 P55 2005
Queer migrations: sexuality, U.S. citizenship, and border crossings. Edited by Eithne Luibhéid and Lionel Cantú, Jr.
Minneapolis, MN: University of Minnesota Press, 2005.
HQ76.3 .L29 Q56 2005
Ramos, Jorge. Dying to cross: the worst immigrant tragedy in American history.
New York, NY: Rayo, 2005.
Shields Library JV6475 .R3613 2005
Richardson, Chad. On the edge of the law: culture, labor, and deviance on the south Texas border.
Austin, TX: University of Texas Press, 2006.
Shields Library HN79 .T4 R53 2006
Romo, David. Ringside seat to a revolution: an underground cultural history of El Paso and Juárez, 1893-1923.
El Paso, TX: Cinco Puntos Press, 2005.
Shields Library F394 .E4 R66 2005
Seguridad, agua y desarrollo: el futuro de la frontera México-Estados Unidos. Alfonso Andrés Cortez Lara, Scott Whiteford, Manuel Chávez Márquez (coordinadores).
Tijuana, B.C.: Colegio de la Frontera Norte, 2005.
Shields Library HD1694 .A3 S45 2005
Urrea, Luis Alberto. The devil's highway: a true story.
New York, NY: Back Bay Books, 2005.
Shields Library JV6475 .U77 2005
Velasco Ortiz, M. Laura. Mixtec transnational identity.
Tucson, AZ: University of Arizona Press, 2005.
Shields Library F1221 .M7 V43 2005
Vila, Pablo. Border identifications: narratives of religion, gender, and class on the U.S.-Mexico border.
Austin, TX: University of Texas Press, 2005.
Shields Library HN120 .C48 C538 2005
Welsome, Eileen. The general and the jaguar: Pershing's hunt for Pancho Villa: a true story of revolution and revenge.
New York, NY: Little, Brown and Co., 2006.
Shields Library F1234 .W375 2006
Werne, Joseph Richard. The imaginary line: a history of the United States and Mexican boundary survey, 1848-1857.
Fort Worth, TX: Texas Christian University Press, 2007.
In process.
Women and change at the U.S.-Mexico border: mobility, labor, and activism. Edited by Doreen J. Mattingly and Ellen R. Hansen.
Tucson, AZ: University of Arizona Press, 2006.
Shields Library HQ1464 .M59 W66 2006
Women and migration in the U.S.-Mexico borderlands: a reader.
Edited by Denise A. Segura and Patricia Zavella. Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 2007.
In process.

Doctoral Dissertations

Aguilar-Benitez, Ismael. Institutional and economic aspects of water services management at the United States-Mexico border: accountability, non-payment and water demand in Laredo, Texas and Nuevo Laredo, Tamaulipas.
University of California, Irvine, 2007.
In ProQuest Digital Dissertations; available from http://www.proquest.com/ (publication number AAT 3243251). Access is free to UC Campus dissertations.
Barnes, Nielan. Transnational networks and community-based organizations: the dynamics of AIDS activism in Tijuana and Mexico City.
University of California, San Diego, 2005.
In ProQuest Digital Dissertations; available from http://www.proquest.com/ (publication number AAT 3243251). Access is free to UC Campus dissertations.
Benitez, Juan Manuel. A social history of the Mexico-United States border: how tourism, demographic shifts and economic integration shaped the image and identity of Tijuana, Baja California, since World War II.
University of California, Los Angeles, 2005.
In ProQuest Digital Dissertations; available from http://www.proquest.com/ (publication number AAT 3243251). Access is free to UC Campus dissertations.
Castillo, Rafael. Cultural studies and the borderlands: hegemony, pedagogy, and postcolonial literature.
Capella University, 2005.
Shields Library PS3531 .A525 Z535 2005a
Coleman, Mathew Charles. Open for business, closed for bodies: rethinking the territoriality of US statecraft at the US-Mexico border.
University of California, Los Angeles, 2005.
Shields Library F787 .C64 2005a
Contreras, Ricardo B. Promotoras of the U.S.-Mexico border: an ethnographic study of culture brokerage, agency, and community development.
University of South Florida, 2005. http://purl.fcla.edu/fcla/etd/SFE0001032
Dicochea, Perlita Raquel. Environmental injustices on the Mexico-United States borderlands: the case of the New River.
University of California, Berkeley, 2006.
In ProQuest Digital Dissertations; available from http://www.proquest.com/ (publication number AAT 3253833). Access is free to UC Campus dissertations.
Goldberg, Anne J. Douglas-Agua Prieta: place, identity, and education on the United States-Mexico border.
Arizona State University, 2005. Shields Library LC2683.4 .G65 2005a
Kang, Shulamith Deborah. The legal construction of the borderlands: the INS, immigration law, and immigrant rights on the United States-Mexico border, 1917--1954.
University of California, Berkeley, 2005.
In ProQuest Digital Dissertations; available from http://www.proquest.com/ (publication number AAT 3210639). Access is free to UC Campus dissertations.
Macias, Patrisia. Policing citizenship: regulating immigrants through rights and crime at the United States-Mexico border.
University of California, Berkeley, 2006.
In ProQuest Digital Dissertations; available from http://www.proquest.com/ (publication number AAT 3253972). Access is free to UC Campus dissertations.
Núñez, Guilleina The political ecology of colonias in the Hatch Valley: towards an applied social science of the U.S.-Mexico border.
University of California, Riverside, 2006.
In ProQuest Digital Dissertations; available from http://www.proquest.com/ (publication number AAT 3226561). Access is free to UC Campus dissertations.
St. John, Rachel C. Line in the sand: the desert border between the United States and Mexico, 1848-1934.
Stanford University, 2005.
Shields Library F786 .S66 2005a
Villarreal, Sylvia. Reshaping cultural identities: a phenomenlogical study of eight second-genaration borderland Latinas.
Pacifica Graduate Institute, 2004.
Shields Library GR111 .M49 V55 2005a

Poetry

Bustos, Francisco J. and Michael Cheno Wickert. Aquí estamos-- --ya nos vamos = here we are-- --here we go: poetry and prose.
National City, CA: Red CalacArts Publications, 2006.
On order.
Hadley, Drummond. Voice of the Borderlands.
Tucson, AZ: Rio Nuevo Publishers, 2005.
Shields Library PS3558 .A318 V65 2005
Luna, Sheryl. Pity the drowned horses.
Notre Dame, IN: University of Notre Dame Press, 2005.
Shields Library PS3612 .U534 P58 2005
Ríos, Alberto. The theater of night.
Port Townsend, WA: Copper Canyon Press, 2005.
Shields Library PS3568 .I587 T47 2005
Sáenz, Benjamin Alire. Dreaming the end of war: poems.
Port Townsend, WA: Copper Canyon Press, 2006.
PS3569 .A27 D74 2006

Fiction

Gaspar de Alba, Alicia. Desert blood: the Juárez murders.
Houston, TX: Arte Público Press, 2005.
Shields Library PS3557 .A8449 D47 2005
Gonzále Viaña, Eduardo. El corrido de Dante.
Houston, TX: Arte Público Press, 2006.
Shields Library PQ8498.17 .O55 C67 2006
Granados, Christine. Brides and sinners in El Chuco: short stories.
Tucson, AZ: University of Arizona Press, 2006.
Shields Library PS3607 .R3624 B75 2006
Grande, Reyna. Across a hundred mountains: a novel.
New York, NY: Washington Square Press, 2007.
Shields Library PS3607 .R3627 A63 2007
Hernández, Lisa. Migrations and other stories.
Houston, TX: Arte Público Press, 2007.
Shields Library PS3608 .E7667 M54 2007
Sin límites imaginarios: antología de cuentos del norte e México . Prólogo, selección y notas por Miguel G. RodrĂ­guez Lozan.
México, D.F.: Instituto de Investigaciones Filológicas, Centro de Estudios Literarios, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, 2006.
Shields Library PQ7276 .S56 2006
Solano, Bernardo and Allan Havis. Nuevo California.
New York, NY: Broadway Play Pub., 2005.
Shields Library PS3569 .O496 N84 2005

Relevant Subject Headings

Listed below are selected Library of Congress Subject Headings and subheadings used to locate resources related to U.S.-Mexico Border issues available at the Peter J. Shields Library. These subject headings might be used to locate additional sources in article databases. In addition, one may use broader terms or specific location names followed by subheadings (Examples: Labor--Mexican American Border Region; Education--Mexican American Border Region; Tijuana--Social Conditions; Mexican Americans--Texas).

Subject Headings Subheadings
American fiction Boundaries
Biculturalism Case studies
Border security Civilization
Ciudad Juárez (Mexico) Economic conditions
Crime Encyclopedias
Diseases Environmental conditions
Drug traffic Ethnic relations
Emigration and immigration Foreign relations
Frontier thesis Government policy
Group identity Historiography
Human rights History
Immigrants History and criticism
International business enterprises In literature
Low-intensity conflicts (Military science) In mass media
Mexican Americans Intellectual life
Mexican fiction Politics and government
Mexican-American Border Region Population
Mexicans Relations
Mexico, North Revolution, 1910-1920
Non-governmental organizations Social life and customs
Offshore assembly industry Songs and music
Operation Gatekeeper (U.S.) Statistics, Medical
Popular culture Statistics, Vital
Public health 20th century
Rio Grande Region
Social justice
Southwest, New
Southwest, Old
Texas Rangers
Texas, South
Tijuana (Baja California, Mexico)
United States. Immigration Border Patrol
Urbanization
Water rights