Humanities & Social Sciences
18th Century Studies Reference Works: Print Collections in Shields Library

Atlases

Atlas de la Révolution française. 11 vols. Paris : Editions de l'Ecole des hautes études en sciences sociales, 1987-2000. Shields Library DC148 .A84 1987.

Haywood, John, 1956- The Cassell atlas of the early modern world, 1492-1783 London : Cassell, c1998. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference G1035 .H389 1998 Lib Use Only.

A concise historical atlas of Eastern Europe. Ed. Dennis P. Hupchick. New York : St. Martin's Press, 1996. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference. G2081.S1 H8 1996. Shields Library G2081.S1 H8 1996. See Part III for "Early modern period (16th-18th centuries)."

Bibliographies

Aguilar Pinal, Francisco. Bibliografia de autores espanoles del siglo XVIII / Madrid : Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Cientificas, Instituto 'Miguel de Cervantes', 1981- Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PQ6069 .A35 Lib Use Only

Meyer, Reinhart. Bibliographia dramatica et dramaticorum : kommentierte Bibliographie der im ehemaligen deutschen Reichsgebiet gedruckten und gespielten Dramen des 18. Jahrhunderts nebst deren Bearbeitungen und Ubersetzungen und ihrer Rezeption bis in die Gegenwart . Tubingen: Niemeyer, 1986-. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference Z2234.D7 M49 1986 Lib Use Only

Brenner, Clarence D.(Clarence Dietz), 1892- A bibliographical list of plays in the French language, 1700-1789. Berkeley, Calif., 1947. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference Z2174.D7 B7 Lib Use Only

Bibliographie de la littérature française du dix-huitième siècle. 3 vols. Paris, Éditions du Centre national de la recherche scientifique, 1969. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference Z2172 .C48

Cioranescu, Alexandre. Bibliographie de la litterature francaise du dix-huitieme siecle. Paris, Editions du Centre national de la recherché scientifique, 1969. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference Z2172 .C48 Lib Use Only

Pargellis, Stanley McCrory, 1898- Bibliography of British history; the eighteenth century, 714-1789. Oxford, Clarendon Press, 1951. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference Z2019 .P3 Lib Use Only

Horwitz, Barbara Joan. British women writers, 1700-1850 : an annotated bibliography of their works and works about them. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press ; Pasadena, Calif. : Salem Press, 1997. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR111 .H6 1997 Lib Use Only

ECCB: The Eighteenth Century Current Bibliography. Ed. Kevin L. Cope and Robert C. Leitz, III. New York: AMS Press, Inc, 1975- . Shields Library Z6204 .E5

Hahn, H. George (Henry George), 1942- The eighteenth-century British novel and its background: an annotated bibliography and guide to topics. Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1985. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR851 .H3 1985 Lib Use Only

Tobin, James Edward, 1905-1968. Eighteenth century English literature and its cultural background; a bibliography New York, Biblo and Tannen, 1967. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference Z2013 .T62

The English novel, 1770-1829 : a bibliographical survey of prose fiction published in the British Isles. Oxford [England] ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2000. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR851 .E52 2000 Lib Use Only

Caldwell, Ronald J., 1943- The era of Napoleon : a bibliography of the history of western civilization, 1799-1815. New York : Garland Pub., 1991. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference CB411 .C3 1991 Lib Use Only

Caldwell, Ronald J., 1943- The era of the French Revolution : a bibliography of the history of western civilization, 1789-1799. New York : Garland Pub., c1985. 2 copies: Shields Library DC148 .C2 1985 Regular Loan; Shields Library HSSGIS Reference DC148 .C2 1985 Lib Use Only

Summers, Montague, 1880-1948. A gothic bibliography. New York, Russell & Russell, 1964. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference Z2014.F4 S9

Jones, Silas Paul, 1888-1953. A list of French prose fiction from 1700 to 1750. New York, Wilson, 1939. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference Z2174.F4 J7 Lib Use Only

Ward, William Smith, 1907- Literary reviews in British periodicals, 1789-1797 : a bibliography : with a supplementary list of general (non-review) articles on literary subject. New York : Garland Pub., 1979. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR442 .W28 1979 Lib Use Only

Coppa, Frank J. Modern Italian history : an annotated bibliography. New York: Greenwood Press, c1990. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference DG545 .C66 1990 Lib Use Only

Stratman, Carl Joseph, 1917-1972. Restoration and eighteenth century theatre research; a bibliographical guide, 1900-1968. Carbondale, Southern Illinois University Press [1971] Shields Library HSSGIS Reference Z2014.D7 S854

Biographical and Critical Dictionaries

American colonial writers, 1735-1781. Detroit, MI : Gale Research Co., 1984. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PS193 .A38 1984 Lib Use Only

American travel writers, 1776-1864. Detroit, MI : Gale Research, 1997. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PS366.T73 A44 1997 Lib Use Only

American writers before 1800 : a biographical and critical dictionary. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, c1983. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PS185 .A4 Lib Use Only

American writers of the early republic. Detroit, MI : Gale Research Co., 1985. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PS208 .A44 1985 Lib Use Only

Bell, Maureen. A biographical dictionary of English women writers 1580-1720. London : Harvester Wheatsheaf, 1990. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR113 .B46 1990 Lib Use Only

The British literary book trade, 1700-1820. Detroit, MI : Gale Research, c1995. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference Z326 .B666 1995 Lib Use Only

British novelists, 1660-1800. Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research Co., c1985. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR851 .B7 1985 Lib Use Only

British prose writers, 1660-1800 : first series. Detroit, MI : Gale Research, c1991. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR769 .B7 1991 Lib Use Only

British prose writers, 1660-1800 : second series. Detroit : Gale Research, 1991. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR769 .B74 1991 Lib Use Only

British Romantic novelists, 1789-1832. Detroit : Gale Research, 1992. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR861 .B74 1992 Lib Use Only

British romantic poets, 1789-1832. Detroit : Gale, c1990. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR590 .B862 1990 Lib Use Only

British romantic poets, 1789-1832. Detroit : Gale Research, c1990. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR590 .B86 1990 Lib Use Only

British romantic prose writers, 1789-1832. Detroit : Gale Research, c1991. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR771 .B75 1991 Lib Use Only

British romantic prose writers, 1789-1832. Detroit : Gale, c1991. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR771 .B76 1991 Lib Use Only

Danish writers from the Reformation to decadence,1550-1900. Detroit : Gale, c2004. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PT7663 .D36 2004 Lib Use Only

Friedrichs, Elisabeth. Die deutschsprachigen Schriftstellerinnen des 18. und 19. Jahrhunderts : ein Lexikon. Stuttgart : Metzler, 1981. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PT41 .F7 Lib Use Only

A Dictionary of British and American women writers, 1660-1800. Totowa, N.J. : Rowman & Allanheld, 1985. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR113 .D5 1985 Lib Use Only

Early modern Russian writers, late seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. Detroit : Gale Research Inc., c1995. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PG2991.2 .E3 1995 Lib Use Only

Eighteenth-century British literary biographers. Detroit : Gale Research, c1994. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR73 .E34 1994 Lib Use Only

Eighteenth-century British poets. Detroit : Gale Research, c1991. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR551 .E36 1991 Lib Use Only

Eighteenth-century British poets, first series. Detroit : Gale Research, c1990. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR551 .E35 1990 Lib Use Only

German writers from the Enlightenment to Sturm und Drang, 1720-1764. Detroit : Gale Research, c1990. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PT293 .G47 1990 Lib Use Only

German writers in the age of Goethe. Detroit : Gale Research, c1990. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PT311 .G48 1990 Lib Use Only

German writers in the age of Goethe, 1789-1832. Detroit, MI : Gale Research, c1989. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PT311 .G47 1989 Lib Use Only

Restoration and eighteenth-century dramatists. Detroit, MI : Gale Research, c1989. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR701 .R4 1989b Lib Use Only

Restoration and eighteenth-century dramatists. Detroit, MI : Gale Research, c1989. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR701 .R4 1989c Lib Use Only

Restoration and eighteenth-century dramatists, first series. Detroit, MI : Gale Research, c1989. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR701 .R4 1989 Lib Use Only

Mann, David,1934- Women playwrights in England, Ireland, and Scotland, 1660-1823. Bloomington : Indiana University Press, c1996. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR635.W6 M36 1996 Lib Use Only

Catalogs, Indexes, and Collection Inventories

Christie-Miller, Sydney Richardson, 1874-1931. The Britwell handlist; London, B. Quaritch limited, 1933. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference Z997 .C47 Lib Use Only

William Andrews Clark Memorial Library. Dictionary catalog of the William Andrews Clark Memorial Library. Boston, G. K. Hall, 1974. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference Z881 .C55 Lib Use Only

Eighteenth-century British books : an author union catalogue. Folkestone, England: Dawson, c1981. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference Z1016 .E37 Lib Use Only

British Museum.Dept. of Printed Books. Eighteenth-century British books : a subject catalogue. Folkestone, Eng. : Dawson, c1979. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference Z921.L553 B75 1979 Lib Use Only

Block, Andrew,1892- The English novel, 1740-1850; a catalogue including prose romances, short stories, and translations of foreign fiction. With introductions by John Crow and Ernest A. Baker. London, Dawsons of Pall Mall, 1961. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference Z2014.F4 B5 1961

Pitcher, Edward W. R. Fiction in American magazines before 1800 : an annotated catalogue. Schenectady, N.Y. : Union College Press in conjunction with Antoca Press, Lexington, Ky., 1993. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PS375 .P5 1993 Lib Use Only

Haags Gemeentemuseum.Muziekbibliotheek. Handlists of manuscripts and early prints in the music library of the Haags Gemeentemuseum, the Hague. [The Hague : The Museum, 1983- ] Shields Library HSSGIS Reference ML136.H25 G6 1983 Lib Use Only

Forster, Antonia, 1951- Index to book reviews in England, 1749-1774. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, c1990. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference Z1035.A1 F67 1990 Lib Use Only

Forster, Antonia, 1951- Index to book reviews in England, 1775-1800. London : British Library, c1997. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference Z1035.A1 F675 1997 Lib Use Only

Williams, William Proctor, 1939- Index to the Stationers' register, 1640-1708 : being an index to A transcript of the registers of the Worshipful Company of Stationers from 1640-1708 A.D., edited by Eyre, Rivington & Plomer (1913-1914). La Jolla, Calif. : L. McGilvery, 1980. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference Z2002 .L612 1980 Lib Use Only

Location register of English literary manuscripts and letters, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. London : British Library, 1995. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR441 .L63 1995 Lib Use Only

Milhous, Judith. A register of English theatrical documents, 1660-1737. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 1991. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PN2599 .M5 1991 Lib Use Only

Stationers' Company (London, England) A transcript of the registers of the worshipful Company of Stationers, from 1640-1708 A.D. [New York, P. Smith, 1950] Shields Library HSSGIS Reference Z2002 .L61 Lib Use Only

Arber, Edward, 1836-1912. The term catalogues, 1668-1709 A.D.; with a number for Easter term, 1711 A.D. A contemporary bibliography of English literature in the reigns of Charles II, James II, William and Mary, and Anne. London, Edward Arber, 1903-06. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference Z2002 .A7 Lib Use Only

Directories

American theatre companies, 1749-1887. New York : Greenwood Press, c1986. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PN2237 .A43 1986 Lib Use Only

International directory of eighteenth-century studies. Oxford : Voltaire Foundation, Taylor Institution, c1988-.Shields Library CB411 .A65 Serial Loan Shields Library HSSGIS Reference CB411 .A65 Lib Use Only

Newspaper Indexing

The Times index, 1785-1789. Reading, Eng., Newspaper Archive Developments [c1978-] Includes indexing of the predecessor of the Times, the Daily universal register, 1785-1787. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference AI21 .T49

Subject Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

The Blackwell encyclopedia of modern Christian thought Oxford [England] ; Cambridge, Mass. : Blackwell, 1993. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference BR95 .B58 1993 Lib Use Only

Lederer, Richard M., 1916-. Colonial American English, a glossary : words and phrases found in colonial writing, now archaic, obscure, obsolete, or whose meanings have changed. Essex, Conn. : Verbatim Book, c1985. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PE2838 .L43 1985 Lib Use Only

Johnson, Odai, 1959-. The colonial American stage, 1665-1774 : a documentary Calendar. Madison [N.J.] : Fairleigh Dickinson University Press; London ; Canbury, NJ : Associated University Presses, 2001. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PN2237 .J64 2001 Lib Use Only

A Dictionary of eighteenth-century world history. Oxford ; Cambridge, Mass., USA : Blackwell Publishers, 1994. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference D286 .D53 1994 Lib Use Only

Dictionary of modern Italian history. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, c1985. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference DG545 .D53 1985 Lib Use Only

Johnson, Samuel, 1709-1784. A dictionary of the English language in which the words are deduced from their originals, and illustrated in their different significations by examples from the best writers. To which are prefixed, a history of the language, and an English grammar. London, Printed by W. Strahan, for J. and P. Knapton [etc.] 1755. Shields Special Collections PE1620 .J6. See Harvest UC Davis Library Catalog (http://harvest.lib.ucdavis.edu/) for numerous other editions.

Johnson, Samuel, 1709-1784. A dictionary of the English language on CD-ROM. Cambridge [England] ; New York, NY, USA : Cambridge University Press, 1996. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference. PE1620 .J6 1996 CD ROM Lib Use Only.

Dictionnaire europeen des Lumieres. Paris : Presses universitaires de France, 1997. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference CB411 .D53 1997 Lib Use Only

Dictionary of the History of Ideas: studies of selected pivotal ideas. 5 vols. New York, Scribner [1973-74]. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference CB5 .D52

Encyclopedia of romanticism : culture in Britain, 1780s-1830s. New York : Garland Pub., 1992. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference DA529 .E53 1992 Lib Use Only

Dobree, Bonamy, 1891- . English literature in the early eighteenth century, 1700-1740. Oxford, Clarendon Press, 1959.Shields Library PR83 .O9 v.7 Regular Loan Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR83 .O9 v.7 Lib Use Only

Goethe-Handbuch : in vier Banden. Stuttgart : J.B. Metzler, 1996-1999. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PT2051 .G632 1996 Lib Use Only

James, Lawrence, 1943- The Illustrated rise & fall of the British Empire. Lawrence James; Abridged by Helen Lownie. London : Little, Brown, 1999. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference DA16 .J264 1999 Lib Use Only

Lexikon der Aufklarung : Deutschland und Europa. Munchen : Beck, c1995. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference B2621 .L49 1995 Lib Use Only

Guberti, N. V.(Nikolai Vasilevich), 1818-1896. Materialy dlia russkoi bibliografii : khronologicheskoe obozrienie riedkikh I zamiechatelnykh russkikh knig XVIII stolietiia, napechatannykh v Rossii grazhdanskim shriftom, 1725-1800. Moskva : Universitetskaia tip., 1878-1891. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference Z2492 .G9 Lib Use Only

Butt, John Everett. The mid-eighteenth century. Oxford : Clarendon Press ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1979. Shields Library PR83 .O9 v.8 Regular Loan Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR83 .O9 v.8 Lib Use Only

Cahalan, James M. Modern Irish literature and culture : a chronology. New York : G.K. Hall ; Toronto : Maxwell Macmillan Canada ; New York : Maxwell Macmillan International, c1993. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR8718 .C35 1993 Lib Use Only

New dictionary of the history of ideas. 6 vols. New York : Charles Scribner's Sons: Thomson/Gale, 2005. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference CB9 .N49 2005.

Vickers, Anita, 1952- The new nation. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2002. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference E164 .V53 2002 Regular Loan

Printed music before 1800. Reading, England : Research Publications Ltd. ; Woodbridge, Conn. : Research Publications Inc., 1991- Shields Library HSSGIS Reference ML136.L8 B63 1991 Lib Use Only

Price, Martin, 1920- The restoration and the eighteenth century. New York : Oxford University Press, 1973. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR1134 .P7 1973 Lib Use Only

Huff, Randall. The Revolutionary War Era. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2004. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference E163 .H84 2004 Regular Loan

Romantic poetry and prose. New York : Oxford University Press, c1973. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR1139 .R65 1973 Lib Use Only

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy [CD ROM; Shields Library, Hum/Soc Sci Dept]

Research and Study Guides

The Ballard Collection of correspondence and papers in the Bodleian Library, Oxford : [reel guide to the microfilm edition, Politics, religion and society in England, 1650-1750 : the Ballard Collection ...] [Brighton, Sussex : Harvester Microform, 1983?] Shields Library HSSGIS Reference DA370 .B35 1983 Lib Use Only

The conservative press in eighteenth- and nineteenth-century America. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1999. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PN4888.C598 C66 1999 Lib Use Only

Parker, Patricia L. Early American fiction : a reference guide. Boston : G.K. Hall, 1984. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PS375 .P37 1984 Lib Use Only

The Eighteenth century : guide to the microfilm collection. Woodbridge, CT : Research Publications, Inc., 1984- Shields Library HSSGIS Reference AC1 .E33 1982 GUIDE c.2 Shields Library Microcopy Collection AC1 .E33 1982 GUIDE Lib Use Only

Nilsen, Don Lee Fred. Humor in eighteenth- and nineteenth-century British literature : a reference guide.Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1998. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PR935 .N56 1998 Lib Use Only

Zubatsky, David S., 1939- Spanish, Catalan, and Galician literary authors of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries : an annotated guide to bibliographies. Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1995. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference PC3911.A1 Z85 1995 Lib Use Only

Hul, Dick van den, 1940- Keyboard music : the Haags Gemeentmuseum : guide to the microform publication. Zug, Switzerland : IDC, 1987. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference ML136.H25 G62 1987.

Cook, Chris, 1945- The Longman handbook of modern European history, 1763-1991. London ; New York : Longman, 1992. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference D299 .C627 1992 Lib Use Only

Lane, Joan. The making of the English patient : a guide to sources for the social history of medicine. Stroud : Sutton, 2000. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference R487 .L359 2000 Lib Use Only

Parry, Pamela Jeffcott. Print index : a guide to reproductions. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood, 1983. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference NE90 .P17 1983 Lib Use Only

Statistical Sources

Cook, Chris, 1945- British historical facts, 1760-1830. Hamden, Conn. : Archon Books, 1980. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference JN210 .C66 Lib Use Only

Mitchell, B. R. ed. British historical statistics. Cambridge [Cambridgeshire] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1988. HSSGIS Reference. HA1134 .M58 1988.

House of Commons Sessional Papers of the Eighteenth Century. Ed. Sheila Lambert. Wilmington DE: Scholarly Resources, Inc, 1976. 147 vols. Shields Library J301 K6 1975.

Mitchell, B. R ed. International historical statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2000. 4th ed. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2003. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference HA4675 .M55 2003

Mitchell, B. R ed. International historical statistics Europe, 1750-2000. 5th ed. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2003. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference HA1107 .M51 2003

Mitchell, B. R ed. International historical statistics the Americas, 1750-2000. 5th ed. New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2003. Shields Library HSSGIS Reference HA175 .M55 2003