help button Ask For Help

Government Information & Maps

Guides

International Foreign Trade Data and Reference Guides

Online Resources

United Nations Statistics Division
The United Nations offers unrestricted access to a number of statistical databases through this site.
The UN Statistics Division offeres free guest access to Commodity Trade Statistics Database (COMTRADE) (up to 1000 records / query).
Trade Policy Review Series (World Trade Organization.)
These reports examine trade policies and practices of Member nations and describe trade policymaking institutions and the macroeconomic situation. Also available in paper copy in the Shields Library.
Trade Statistics (World Trade Organization.)
International Trade Statistics report is published annually. It provides an overview of both short and long term developments in world trade in the two principal sectors, merchandise and commercial services.
Source OECD (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development)
Includes data on foreign trade, export market growth and export performance, and international competitiveness; international trade by commodity, 1961-present, and monthly trade data for OECD member countries. (UCD students, faculty, and staff only)
FAOSTAT (Food and Agriculture Organization)
Includes data on agriculture and food trade, trade indices, exports of cereals by source and destination, and forestry trade flow. (Bulk data download for UCD students, faculty, and staff only)
Eurostat
The Statistical Office of the European Communities (Eurostat) is the statistical arm of the European Commission, producing data for the European Union and promoting harmonisation of statistical methods across the member states. Eurostat trade data are now available free of charge.

CDROMS

Located in Government Information and Maps.

PCTAS: Trade Analysis System: Commodity Trade Statistics by Country
United Nations Conference on Trade and Development, World Trade Organization, and United Nations Statistics Division
Imports and exports by country and five-digit Standard Industrial Trade Classification. CD-ROMs with five-year time series: 1994-1998 and 1999-2003.
Location: GovInfo Media
Internal and External Trade of the EU (European Union.)
Data on external trade of goods of the Members States of the EU with the rest of the world (Intra and Extra-EU trade).
Location: HF 1371 I5 CD-Rom GovInfo Media

Printed Sources

Direction of Trade Statistics Yearbook (International Monetary Fund) 1960-Present
Reports imports and exports by trading partners. Values in U.S. dollars.
Location: HF91 D572 Latest in Government Information
FAO Trade Yearbook (United Nations) 1958-Present
Reports values of imports and exports by country for agricultural commodities. For countries, reports values of imports and exports by commodity. Includes volume indexes. Values in U.S. dollars with conversion tables for national currencies.
Location: HD1421 F611 Latest in Government Information
International Trade Statistics Yearbook (United Nations)
Provides basic information for individual countries external trade performances, the importance of trading partners, and the significance of individual commodities imported and exported.
Location: HF91 U5 Latest in Government Information
Commodity Indexes for the Standard International Trade Classification, Revision 3 (United Nations)
The Commodity Indexes are published in two volumes. Volume I contains an Item Index, and Volume II contains an Alphabetic Index. The Item Index lists all basic headings of the SITC in numerical order and provides, for each basic heading, an alphabetical list of representative commodities.
Location: HF 1017 C55 1994 Government Information