Guides
- Citing Government and Internet Resources
- Congressional Information in Electronic Form
- Economic Statistics
- Federal and State Funding
- United States Foreign Trade
- International Foreign Trade
- Online Government Statistics
Government Information Collections
Related Collections
Government Information Resources
- Databases for Government Information: A - Z List
- Featured Database Guide
- Quick Subject Guide
- Research Guides
- Infomine: Internet Resources (http://infomine.ucr.edu/cgi-bin/search?govpub)
- USA.gov Reference Center (http://www.usa.gov/Topics/Reference_Shelf.shtml)
- Federal and State Tax Forms
- Citing Government and Internet Resources
Find
Quick Links
Guides
United States Foreign Trade Data and Reference Guides
Online Resources
General and Reference Information:
- Trade Data Basics (http://ita.doc.gov/td/industry/otea/trade_data_basics.html) (U.S International Trade Administration)
-
STAT-USA (http://www.stat-usa.gov)
VPN
(U.S. Department of Commerce)
- Trade information on countries and products from the U.S. Dept. of Commerce. Provides detailed current monthly U.S. imports and exports data.
- Password access for UCD users. See Government Information Librarian for access.
-
USATradeonline (http://www.usatradeonline.gov/)
VPN
(U.S. Department of Commerce)
- Export and Import annual data from 1992 to present and monthly and year to date data for latest copule of years.
- Password access for UCD users. See Government Information Librarian for access.
- Export.gov (http://www.export.gov) (U.S. Department of Commerce)
- The U.S. government's export portal contains information that helps U.S. companies export, for example, export basic, trade leads and market research.
U.S. Government Agency Databases:
-
U.S. Department of Agriculture. Economic Research Service.
- U.S. Agricultural Trade Briefing Room (http://www.ers.usda.gov/Briefing/AgTrade/)
- FATUS: Foreign Agricultural Trade of the U.S. (http://www.ers.usda.gov/data/fatus/)
- Interactive data system. 200+ commodity groups; 250+ countries and regions; 12 years of data. 1989 to present. [historical data available in printed reports]
-
U.S. Department of Agriculture. Foreign Agricultural Service.
- Market and Trade Data (http://www.fas.usda.gov/data.asp)
- FASonline - FAS Data Online (http://www.fas.usda.gov/ustrade/)
-
U.S. Bureau of the Census. Foreign Trade Data.
- Trade Statistics (http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/statistics/)
- State Export Data (http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/statistics/state/)
-
U.S. International Trade Administration
- United States Foreign Trade Highlights (http://www.ita.doc.gov/td/industry/otea/usfth/)
- State Exports (http://www.ita.doc.gov/td/industry/otea/state/)
- Monthly and annual exports and imports by country for 10 digit harmonized codes (http://hq-tpisweb.ita.doc.gov/portal/page/portal/rptsforms/p_hs10digittradeform_1)
- U.S. Trade Quick Reference Tables (http://www.ita.doc.gov/td/industry/otea/trade-detail/)
-
U.S. International Trade Commission
- Interactive Trade Data Web (http://dataweb.usitc.gov/)
- Features the USITC Tariff database for tariff data, product trade data and other information on tariff rates (http://dataweb.usitc.gov/scripts/tariff.asp).
CDROMS
Located in Government Information and Maps
- U.S. Imports Of Merchandise on CDROM and U.S. Imports History on CDROM
- Provides figures on imports of merchandise into the United States, organized by Harmonized Tariff Codes. Includes the quantity and value of materials imported; value and shipping weight data for vessel and air shipments in terms of commodity by country of origin, by customs district of entry, by customs district of unlading, and by rate provision. Data are provided for the current month and for the year to date. Histories include data for latest four years.
- Latest Histories on Government Information CD-ROM workstation; earlier in GovInfo Media: HF3005 U55 CD-ROM
- Location and holdings of monthly & annual: Latest month and year available on Government Information CD-ROM workstation; earlier in: GovInfo Media: HF105 A683 CD-ROM 1990 - present.
- U.S. Exports Of Merchandise on CDROM and U.S. Exports History on CDROM
- Provides figures on exports of merchandise from the United States, organized by Harmonized Tariff Codes. Includes the quantity and value of materials exported; export districts from which the products left the country; methods of transportation; and countries of destination. Data are provided for the current month and for the year to date. Histories include data for latest four years.
- Latest Histories on Government Information CD-ROM workstation; earlier in GovInfo Media: HF3003 U744
- Location and holdings of monthly & annual: Latest month and year available on Government Information CD-ROM workstation; earlier in GovInfo Media: HF105 A682 CD-ROM 1990 - present.
- U.S. Imports, 1972-1994: Data and Concordances
- Describes data on U.S. imports from 1972-1994, classified according to the Tariff Schedule of the U.S. Annotated (TSUSA), Harmonized System (HS), Standard International Trade Classification (SITC Revisions 2 and 3), and Standard Industrial Classification (SIC 1972 basis), along with various Concordances.
- Location: Government Information CD-ROM workstation.
- U.S. Exports, 1972-1994: Data and Concordances
- Describes data on U.S. exports from 1972-1994, classified according to the "Schedule B" system, Harmonized System (HS), Standard International Trade Classification (SITC Revisions 2 and 3), and Standard Industrial Classification (SIC 1972 basis), along with various concordances. Includes a revision to SIC import data for 1989-1994.
- Location: Government Information CD-ROM workstation.
Print Reference Sources
- Country Reports on Economic Policy and Trade Practices.
- Annual report submitted to congress.
-
Govt Info Reference: HF1455 C85, 1989 - present.
Also available online (http://www.state.gov/e/eb/rls/rpts/eptp/). - Foreign Trade of the United States: Including State and Metro Area Export Data
- Contains statistical information about U.S. imports and exports and related topics. Includes statistics on the exports of each state and large metropolitan area by country or region of destination and by industry.
- Govt Info Reference: HF3003 F6 (Latest edition: 2001).
- Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States Annotated for Statistical Reporting Purposes.
- For use in classification of imported merchandise for rate of duty and statistical purposes. Contains the legal text of the Schedule, as amended and modified, together with statistical annotations formulated pursuant to Section 484(f) Tariff Act of 1930, as amended.
-
Govt Info Reference: HJ6081 A38.
Also available on CDROM: HJ6081 A38 (Latest on Government Information CD-ROM workstation).
Also available online as an interactive database (http://dataweb.usitc.gov/scripts/tariff.asp). - National Trade Estimate Report on Foreign Trade Barriers…
- Annual Survey on significant foreign barriers to United States exports. Includes information on actions being taken to eliminate any act, policy, or practice identified in the report.
- Govt Info Reference: HF1456 U53, 1986 - present.
- Schedule B: Statistical Classification of Domestic and Foreign Commodities Exported From the United States.
- Contains approximately 40,007 digit commodity classifications, based on the organization framework of the Tariff Schedules of the United States, Annotated, to be used by shippers in reporting export shipments from the United States and for use in compiling official statistics on exports of merchandise from the United States.
- Latest in Govt Info Reference: HF105 A666.


