help button Ask For Help

Government Information & Maps

Guides

Native Americans in Government Documents

Historical & Cutural Classics

Handbook of North American Indians.
Washington : Smithsonian Institution : U.S. Government Printing Office, 1978-
Location: E77 .H251 Humanities/Social Sciences Reference
Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico.
Washington, D.C. : Government Printing Office, 1912, 1959. (U. S.. Bureau of American Ethnology. Bulletin ; 30) [various reprint editions]
Location: E51 .U5 no.30 Humanities/Social Sciences Reference; also copy in Shields Library Stacks
Smithsonian Institution. Bureau of American Ethnology. List of publications of the Bureau of American Ethnology, with index to authors and titles.
http://www.sil.si.edu/DigitalCollections/BAE/Bulletin200/200title.htm
Washington : Smithsonian Institution Press, 1971
Smithsonian Institution. Bureau of American Ethnology. Annual report.
Washington, D.C.: Government printing office, 1881-1964.
Location: E51 .U48 Shields Library Stacks v.1-48 (1879/80-1930/31), v.80-81 (1962/1963-1963/1964)
Smithsonian Institution. Bureau of American Ethnology. Bulletins.
Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office.
Location: E51 .U5 Shields Library Stacks
Bureau of Indian Affairs
http://www.doi.gov/bureau-indian-affairs.html

Congressional Documents

U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 Digital Edition
http://uclibs.org/PID/42461
Full text congressional committee documents and reports, including maps and illustrations. Ongoing project to be completed by 2006. Includes agency annual reports published in congressional editions, for example, Bureau of Indian Affairs Annual reports to the Secretary of the Interior.
LexisNexis Congressional with Historical Indexes 1789-1969
http://web.lexis-nexis.com/congcomp/
Indexes U.S. congressional publications, hearings, committee documents and reports. Full text not available for historical publications (1789-1969)

Laws, Treaties

Kappler, Charles J. Indian affairs. Laws and treaties. [2d. ed.]
http://digital.library.okstate.edu/kappler/
Washington, U.S. Government Printing Office, 1904. Vols. 1-5 reprinted in 1975; Commonly known as the Kappler report.
Location: KF8203 1975 Government Information Reference; also circulating copy: KF8203 1972 Shields Library Stacks; Also reprint edition: Indian treaties, 1778-1883, KF8202 1972 Humanities/ Social Sciences Reference
Supplement to Kappler's Indian affairs, laws and treaties : compiled federal regulations relating to Indians.
[Washington D.C. : U.S. Government Printing Office, 1975] Vols. 6-7 published by U. S. Department of the Interior under title: Kappler's Indian affairs.
Location: KF8203.5 1975
Johnson, Steven L., Guide to American Indian documents in the Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1899 : a project of the Institute for the Development of Indian Law.
New York : Clearwater Pub. Co., c1977. (The Library of American Indian affairs).
Location: KF8201.A1 J631 Government Information Reference
Cohen, Felix S., 1907-1953. Handbook of Federal Indian law : with reference tables and index.
http://thorpe.ou.edu/cohen.html
Washington : U.S. Government Printing Office, 1942.
Location: KF8205 .C6 1982 Humanities/Social Sciences Reference, 1982 edition; KF8205. A33 1971 Shields Library Stacks
Indian Land Cessions in the United States, 1784-1894 United States Serial Set, Number 4015 Annual report of the Bureau of American Ethnology to the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution.
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwss-ilc.html
Washington, D.C. : U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1899. vol. 18 (1896-97); p. 521-997. : 67 maps.

Statistical Data

American Indian and Alaska Native Populations – Census Bureau web site
http://www.census.gov/population/www/socdemo/race/indian.html
Facts on the American Indian and Alaskan Native Population – Census Bureau links
http://www.census.gov/pubinfo/www/NEWamindML1.html
Statistical record of Native North Americans.
Detroit, MI : Gale Research, c1995
Location: E98.P76 S73 1993 Humanities/Social Sciences Reference

California

Kroeber, A. L. (Alfred Louis), 1876-1960. Handbook of the Indians of California.
Washington, Government Printing Office, 1925. (Smithsonian Institution. Bureau of American Ethnology. Bulletin, 78).
Location: E51 .U5 no.78 1976 Humanities/ Social Sciences Reference; also E51 .U5 no.78 1953 Shields Library Stacks (previous edition)
Five Views: an Ethnic Historic Site Survey for California, U.S. National Park Service
http://www.cr.nps.gov/history/online_books/5views/5views1.htm
Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project, University of Oklahoma Law Library and National Indian Law Library
http://thorpe.ou.edu/
The Avalon Project at Yale Law School – Treaties Between the United States and Native Americans
http://www.yale.edu/lawweb/avalon/ntreaty/ntreaty.htm
California Native Americans – California Native American Heritage Commission
http://ceres.ca.gov/nahc/cna.html