help button Ask For Help

Government Information & Maps

Guides

Economic Statistics

General Economic and Statistical Sources

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Annual statistical compilation from the U.S. Bureau of the Census.
Fedstats.gov
One-stop gateway to statistics from all Federal agencies and programs. Find data by agency, subject, or program. Mapstats can retrieve Census 2000 data by state, county, or congressional district.
California Statistical Abstract
Annual compilation of California statistical data from the California Department of Finance.
Counting California
Data about California from Federal and state agencies. A CDL (California Digital Library) project acquires the data, provides persistent access and presents data in a variety of formats. Search interface provides topical, agency, and title search.
STAT-USA Licensed Database Licensed for UCD users
U.S. Dept. of Commerce site, contains U.S. and international business and economic data.

United States

Economic Indicators.gov
From the U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Link to latest U.S. government economic indicators.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
This U.S. Dept. of Commerce agency collects and disseminates economic data including Gross Domestic Product, and National Income and Product Accounts.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Bureau of the Census Economic Programs
Census produces releases on housing starts, construction, manufacturing, retail and wholesale trade, and more.
The Conference Board Economic Indicators
Compiles major economic indicators, including composite indexes of leading, coincident, and lagging indicators
Economic Statistics Briefing Room
Links to current data and press releases from major statistical series from various government agencies.
Economic Data from FRED - Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Download or view a variety of economic data.
Liber8 - Federal Reserve Board of St. Louis
An economic information portal for librarians and students.
Beige Book
Current economic conditions from the twelve Federal Reserve bank districts
Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
Data can be found on the FRB: Statistics: Releases and Historical Data page
Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco
FDIC - Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
Includes consumer information, directory of federally insured financial institutions, banking statistics, and more.

California

California Department of Finance - economic indicators, most data available for view or download in excel.

International

Economist Intelligency Unit (EIU) Country Intelligence
EIU Country Profiles and Reports provide objective and timely analysis and forecasts of the political, economic and business environment in more than 180 countries. Annual profiles are updated by quarterly reports.
European Union
Data - link to free statistical data, for example, Euro indicators, and a selection of data from the Eurostat Yearbook.
International Monetary Fund
IMF Country Information See also International Financial Statistics, and Balance of Payments Statistics in print copy in the library.
United Nations
Infonation - Data about UN member nations
OECD
SourceOECD - Licensed Database Licensed for UCD users Includes full text books, periodicals, and statistical data.
World Bank
The World Bank's Global Development Finance data are available on library workstations in Government Information via networked CD-ROM. Print copies of World Development Indicators and Global Development Finance are also available in library.